Monday, May 10, 2010

National Train Day this past Saturday

Had the pleasure of attending and participating in the National Train Day program at Union Station in New Haven this past Saturday. This was one of hundreds of events that took place across the United States in celebration of the country's rail heritage and to help promote the rebirth of rail. The event was very well done in the west lobby of Union Station and four of the state's gubernatorial candidates were in attendance as speakers as well. Dan Malloy and Ned Lamont from the Democrat side and Oz Griebel and Larry DeNardis from the Republican side. In fact Ned traveled to the event by train. As expected all four were very supportive of the idea of enhancing rail service, both passenger and freight in Connecticut and the Northeast.

Rail, without question is experiencing a rebirth in this country. Not only is the current administration in Washington looking to invest but the private sector lead by Warren Buffet has made no secret of their intentions to invest in and grow the rail business. All good outcomes for us. We just need to move CONN DOT along faster and get them to understand that not every project we do has to have rubber wheels.

Monday, May 3, 2010

Great day and great weather for the 6th Annual Duck Race

The weather was just great. Unlike last year when it dripped rain off and on the entire time and the air temp was in the 50's, this year sun was hot and the food vendors were selling bottled water and slushies non-stop. Luckily the river was moving fast and the first ducks crossed the finish line about 30 minutes from when they were dumped.

In the first preliminary exhibition race the Forestville Village Association duck out-paced the Central Connecticut Chamber duck to take the crown away for 2010. In the second exhibition race (honoring our armed forces) the Coast Guard duck won the day.

Again thanks to all who provided sponsorships, logistic support and bought tickets. To our Friends at the Forestville Village Association - Great Job!

Here are the winners:

1- # 4104 Andrew Gaidis
2- # 569 Michelle Dressler
3- # 1895 Lori D'Amato
4- # 873 Sue Moreau
5- # 105 Pam Dimock
6- # 4563 Mike Klonoski
7- # 3082 Al Cyr
8- # 848 Robert Caruso
9- # 3859 Terry Paskowski
10- #2438 Luke Freimuth
11- # 970 Joyce Lukasewski
12- # 885 Mike Pastore
13- # 3969 Lisa Stickels
14- # 3244 J. Ramondetta
15- # 3794 Brianna Carlson
16- # 3690 Kelly Green
17- # 1423 Ellie Barrett
18- # 3241 Larry Carlucci
19- # 3899 Craig Minor
20- # 247 Holy DeLuc
21- # 4538 Amy Lipscomb
22- # 932 Margaret Scoville
23- # 1418 Linda Perry